SEARCH FORUM:

Forum > Shopping

Facebook
Twitter
Googleplus
lovelyyx
Style_council
lovelyyx

i’m completely new to this whole style thing.

i’m 16, and over the years i have collected a lot of clothes. my closet is a landfill of silky tops, floral dresses,

i feel like i have the basics – now i want WEIRD stuff. i’m talking about 90’s puffy fresh prince of bel-air inspired sweaters. i live in ny. where can i go thrifting without spending too much money?

and where can i sell my clothes (most of them never worn)? can i do both in the same stores?

THANK YOU SOO MUCH

posted over 4 years ago
transatlanticism
Style_council
transatlanti...

I’m from Australia, but here you cannot sell your clothes at “thrift stores” (we call them opshops). Here they are usually run by charities and so all the clothes are given as donations…

I’d suggest something like eBay to sell them. Actually, we should start a ‘for sale’ forum on here and swap them, I have so much stuff I’m over :)

Obviously I can’t help with any good opshops in NY… but I’ve found that with opshops its largely about chance. Just don’t be discouraged, and try on things you wouldn’t normally – one of my favourite tops is a size 16 (I’m an 8 in AUS sizes), but it looks awesome oversized!

posted over 4 years ago

spearme
Style_council
spearme

You should look for weird items on etsy.com too. I have tried thrifting in new york and I feel most things are marked up there. I would def shop online if you want a deal. I have a small etsy shop called Spearme and also Tractordog is a good shop to look at as well. Have you found any consignment shops that you can sell your clothes in new york?

posted over 4 years ago

ClothesHorse
Style_icon
ClothesHorse