Forum
SEARCH FORUM:
Facebook
Twitter
Googleplus
ashbash3000
Style_council
ashbash3000

I was in the 5th grade. We were in the middle of a spelling Bee when a voice on the loud speaker told us the tragedy. My teacher turned on the radio; we heard the event unfold. I went home early, distraught at the idea of someone hurting our country. I sat on the couch with my family still trying to understand. The memories of that day are still in my head. “May you never forget what is worth remembering, nor ever remember what is best forgotten”

posted about 3 years ago
MurasakiNeko
Style_council
MurasakiNeko

I was a freshman in high school and watched the entire thing live on the TV in my Biology class just before the other plane hit the second tower. (Someone had turned on the news during passing period, and when I saw it I first thought, “Why is that building burning?” Moments later the second plane hit and, well, that answered my question /-:). It’s definitely one of those days I can watch over and over like a movie in my head.

I was/am a pacifist anyway, but I especially hate political violence aimed at unprepared, innocent civilians, so I was angry and upset. But I was also scared for the way Americans would react, too. I was already into history then, and I knew how these things usual go: when people are afraid, they are irrational and sometimes very hateful. I was really worried about what would come after and whether any of it would be positive.

I wrote a post yesterday about my current feelings on what the legacy of 9/11 should be. 10 years later I’m still trying to find the best way to think about the day.

posted about 3 years ago

FashionTrendsMore
Style_council
FashionTrend...

I was in 1st grade- I barely remember it

posted about 3 years ago

tightsandtea
Style_council
tightsandtea