Forum
SEARCH FORUM:
Facebook
Twitter
Googleplus
tightsandtea
Style_council
tightsandtea

Opinions? I’m just curious what other people think, especially anyone outside the US.

I’m torn. I believe in the general theme of what they stand for—but it’s disorganized, chaotic, and lacks specific and clear-cut goals. By nature, it attracts a lot of anarchists and and crazies who like to cause trouble—even if 99.999% of the protesters are peaceful, you’ll always have those radicals. Like, my friend’s parents own a shop in one of the cities; a group of people told them if they didn’t close their shop that day, they’d smash all their windows.

Also.. is the police force excessive, or is it justified? At my school, the protest specifically targeted education—something that’s been protested for ever since I was a freshman. Students were beaten viciously with batons for standing their ground—many were also arrested. What’s more shocking? Professors and graduate students were also beaten and arrested. A well-respected English professor was literally pulled by her hair, beaten with batons, and forced to the ground to be handcuffed. It’s hard to see my fellow students, and faculty members that I look up to, being beaten down because they’re fighting to keep public, affordable education.

posted about 3 years ago
DelightfulDecember
Style_council
DelightfulDe...

Yeah, I pretty much disregard those crazy people and just only wish well to the protesters who are actually maintaining peace and not vandalizing or slashing tires. I have heard protesters are doing their best to make sure anarchists don’t cause destruction to buildings and vehicles. But it’s hard to zap those crazy people out of place, since there are a lot of them.

I was watching a live stream from a protestor in New York, a group of a few people got mad at the cameraman because they thought he was filming them. Then we (as viewers) all realized that they were doing illegal things—slashing tires! Bah, anarchists.