Facebook
Twitter
Googleplus
TAGS:  careerstudies
Rebel_Lady09
Style_council
Rebel_Lady09

so hey fashion lovers !
I desperately need your advises !! ..I’m still studying, specialized in physics but I have a huge passion in journalism… I don’t know what should I do next… I always wanted to be a journalist, but my parents want me to continue studying physics in college !
so what would you do if you were in my position ? would you do go for what you always wanted OR would you do what your parents think is best for you ?

posted about 1 year ago
adriennee
Style_council
adriennee

I’m in a similar position. What I’m studying in school doesn’t exactly fit with my journalism pursuits, but I try to think of it as a take on the liberal arts education.

Study physics, and write on the side – submit pieces to various media outlets, and you can work on building your portfolio while getting a degree in an equally badass field of study, like physics. Your major lends itself to your career, but it definitely doesn’t dictate it.

posted about 1 year ago

aboutthatnerdlyfe
New_user aboutthatnerdlyfe is new to Chictopia!

Make Her Feel Welcome with Chic Points
10 points - Become a fan
5 points - Vote her photos into the Style Gallery
1 point - Post a comment on her photos

When aboutthatnerdlyfe reaches 200 Chic Points, she will be in the Style Council!
aboutthatner...

Journalism is an awesome major, but unfortunately, the job market isn’t really that easy for journalists right now (I could be wrong, but I’m basing this off of my friends). I suggest you continue with physics and do journalistic work on the side. There’s online magazines, blogs and newspapers that would be willing to take you in, given that you provide them samples of your work.

You could always minor as well, so you could put this as part of your credentials!