Forum
SEARCH FORUM:

Forum > Careers

Facebook
Twitter
Googleplus
_b0mbshell
New_user _b0mbshell is new to Chictopia!

Make Her Feel Welcome with Chic Points
10 points - Become a fan
5 points - Vote her photos into the Style Gallery
1 point - Post a comment on her photos

When _b0mbshell reaches 200 Chic Points, she will be in the Style Council!
_b0mbshell

Hey Everybody-

I’m a freshman in college wanting to get into the fashion industry. I am currently a Journalism major, but I’m struggling to figure out whether I want to stick with it or change my major to Marketing. I love fashion, but my passion for writing has diminished a bit since starting school in the Spring. I want a degree in something that I can use to help break into the fashion world but also fall back on if I decided to go in a different direction.

I’m at a crossroads and I have no clue what to do! Help please?

posted about 2 years ago
KateSeverson
New_user KateSeverson is new to Chictopia!

10 points - Become a fan

When KateSeverson reaches 200 Chic Points, she will be in the Style Council!
KateSeverson

I’d look into marketing, but also see what courses crossover with Journalism and perhaps try to minor in Journalism. Or even double major. I think that having both would really make you stand out a little more when it comes time to look for a job. Diversifying your skills can never hurt.

posted about 2 years ago

BeckyBedbug
Style_council
BeckyBedbug

Like the others, I was going to suggest seeing if you can do both.

The best thing to do is speak to your course advisor.

posted about 2 years ago

cynchmolina
Style_council
cynchmolina

You should try minoring in Marketing, or rather, take a masters degree in Marketing, then make Journalism your undergrad course

posted about 2 years ago

marion05
New_user marion05 is new to Chictopia!

10 points - Become a fan

When marion05 reaches 200 Chic Points, she will be in the Style Council!
marion05