Forum
SEARCH FORUM:
Facebook
Twitter
Googleplus
mel191090
Style_council
mel191090

i’m new in getting fashionable,,i used to wear oversize t shirts and baggy pants..but decided to change d way i look at clothing but i’m kinda confused wid these…mind helping???

posted almost 6 years ago
Catherinee
Style_council
Catherinee

Well, I’m pretty sure that tights and stockings are the same thing, although I’ve heard the word tights be used instead of leggings before. But in general, stockings are the typical nylon kind that are bound to get runs in them at some point or another. Leggings are often footless, sometimes cropped (meh) and usually made out of cotton. Of course there’s exceptions to both, but that’s just what I’ve noticed.

geekbonchic
Style_council
geekbonchic

Stockings typically refer to tights that are meant to be dressier and more professional; the slightly sheer black nylons that you would wear with a suit.

Tights are full length legwear that can come in a variety of materials and colors and typically aren’t as dressy as stockings.

Leggings are never full-length (hence they only cover your legs and not your feet) and are far more casual than anything else.

heatherrr
Style_council
heatherrr

Stockings are sheer nylons that only reach the thigh, and are usually held up with a garter belt, but a lot of people refer to all nylons/pantyhose as stockings.

And sometimes leggings are also referred to as “footless tights.”

Aetiyuel21
New_user Aetiyuel21 is new to Chictopia!

Make Him Feel Welcome with Chic Points
10 points - Become a fan
5 points - Vote his photos into the Style Gallery
1 point - Post a comment on his photos

When Aetiyuel21 reaches 200 Chic Points, he will be in the Style Council!
Aetiyuel21