Forum
SEARCH FORUM:
Facebook
Twitter
Googleplus
SaraKali
Style_council
SaraKali

I am a student here in Los Angeles and I have a limited amount of money every quarter to purchase clothes/accessories with. I need some basics like leggings and tank tops…but I also want to buy jewelry/totes that cost in the $100-600 US dollars range. I can’t seem to decide if it would be better to buy a bunch of clothes from places like Forever21 or Zara that wont last very long, or if I should buy one tote bag from Tory Burch that will tie everything in my closet together and perhaps a pair of J Crew mary janes…but those purchases will leave me sorely strapped for cash and unable to buy anything else fashionable until the summer time. What should I do?

posted almost 3 years ago
catiebeatty
Forum_moderator
catiebeatty

I struggle with this as well. One tip, don’t buy J. Crew flats. They’re all really cute, pretty good quality, but they are SO uncomfortable. I would also check reviews of the Tory Burch bag before buying it (I don’t know a lot about Tory Burch).
It’s easy to fall into the trap of equating high price with good quality, but unless you’re buying Chanel and Prada, the $300 bag maybe just as good as a $25 bag. Example, I bought a pair of Sam Edelmen flats once, and I will never buy another pair of his shoes. I was told they were solid leather, but it turned out they were made of a thin layer of leather over canvas. They stained my feet green, the leather is now peeling off and the soles are coming unglued. Not worth the $90!

Really, you just have to decide if having more clothing choices is more important than having a nice bag. Both have their pros and cons. Make a list of the pros and cons and see how you feel after. You can always save your pennies and buy a high-quality bag in the future :)

SaraKali
Style_council
SaraKali